Text Box: #                            
Text Box: ##                                   
Text Box: ###                               
Text Box: ###

 

About the Program

Student Salary

Faculty Areas of Specialization

MBRS Program Highlights 

Current Students

Calendar

Application Procedure

Search:
Newark Campus Home Page

Graduate School-Newark  Home Page

Comments about this page to Webmaster

Last updated: 1/2015

Other Rutgers Websites

 

Comments about this page to Webmaster

Last updated:

 

Minority Biomedical Research Support (MBRS) Program

 

Faculty Areas of Specialization

 

 

 

Edward M. Bonder
Ph.D., Pennsylvania

Biology.  Nonmuscle cell motility; molecular motors, developmental axis
formation, and wound healing.
ebonder@newark.rutgers.edu
http://bonderosa.rutgers.edu/

Ann Cali
Ph.D., Ohio State

Biology.  Parasitologist specializing in the Microsporidia -a group of spore-forming intracellular parasitic Protista, infecting human and animals. Discovery of new organisms in man, their developmental biology, ultrastructure, pathology and epidemiology.
anncali@newark.rutgers.edu
http://newarkbiosci.rutgers.edu/

Alan Gilchrist
Ph.D., Rutgers

Psychology.  How the human visual system computes perceived shades of black, gray or white from the pattern of relative intensities of light in the retinal image.
alan@psychology.rutgers.edu
http://www.psych.rutgers.edu/

Jorge Golowasch
Ph.D., Brandeis

Biology.   Mechanisms of long-term homeostatic changes of neuronal molecules in response to removal of input from the central nervous system.
golowasch@stg.rutgers.edu
http://newarkbiosci.rutgers.edu/

Kent Harber
Ph.D., Stanford

Psychology.   Interracial feedback and social support; manner in which people provide and receive emotional help from others, and effects of social support on coping.
kharber@psychology.rutgers.edu
http://www.psych.rutgers.edu/

Huixin He
Ph.D., Peking University

Chemistry. Pursues research in the field of nanomaterials, including fabrication and exploration their novel properties for nanoelectronics
and ultra-sensitive chem./biosensors.
Huixinhe@newark.rutgers.ed
http://www.andromeda.rutgers.edu/~huixinhe/huixinhe.html

Frank Jordan
Ph.D., Pennsylvania

Chemistry.   Elucidation of the structure, mechanism, and folding of enzyme catalyzed reactions, specifically enzymes that utilize thiamin diphosphate (the vitamin B1 Coenzyme) and serine proteases.
fjordan@andromeda.rutgers.edu
http://www.rutgers-newark.rutgers.edu/chemistry/

Haesun Kim
Ph.D., Cincinnati

Biology. Cell and molecular biology of oligodendrocytes and Schwann cells.
haekim@newark.rutgers.edu
http://newarkbiosci.rutgers.edu/

Barry Komisaruk
Ph.D.,  Rutgers, The State University 

Psychology. Neural biofeedback to alleviate pain from spinal cord injuries.
brk@andromeda.rurtgers.edu
http://psychology.rutgers.edu/~brk/

Kenneth Kressel
Ph.D., Columbia

Psychology.  Nature and dynamics of conflict among scientists and the role of third party mediators in resolving such disputes.
kkressel@psychology.rutgers.edu
http://psychology.rutgers.edu/~kkressel/

Elise L. Lev
Ed.D., Columbia

Nursing.   Analysis of self-efficacy- enhancing intervention given to women with breast cancer.
eliselev@andromeda.rutgers.edu
http://nursing.rutgers.edu/academic-programs/acad-progs.htm

Richard Mendelsohn
Ph.D., MIT

Chemistry.  Spectroscopic characterization of monolayer films related to pulmonary surfactant, and the development of infrared imaging technology for the study of bone disease.
mendelso@andromeda.rutgers.edu
http://www.rutgers-newark.rutgers.edu/chemistry/

Joan Morrell
Ph.D., Rochester

Neuroscience.   Steroid hormone dependent reproductive behavior, particularly maternal behavior, with an emphasis on examining the systems that mediate maternal motivation.
morrell@axon.rutgers.edu
http://ins.rutgers.edu/

Daniel E. Murnick
Ph.D., MIT

Physics.   Laser-based analysis of stable isotopes and Carbon 14 for biomedical studies.
murnick@andromeda.rutgers.edu
http://www.rutgers-newark.rutgers.edu/~physics/

Farzan Nadim
Ph.D., Boston

Biology.   How networks of neurons in the central nervous system generate rhythmic motor activity.
farzan@newark.rutgers.edu
http://newarkbiosci.rutgers.edu/

Bart Rypma
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology

Psychology.  Working memory; reasoning; cognitive aging; prefrontal cortical functioning.
rypma@psychology.rutgers.edu
http://psychology.rutgers.edu/~rypma/

James Tepper
Ph.D., Colorado

 

Neuroscience.  Neurophysiological, neuropharmacological, and neuroanatomical examination of the functional circuitry of the basal ganglia.
tepper@axon.rutgers.edu
http://garcia.rutgers.edu
http://ins.rutgers.edu/

Judith Weis
Ph.D., New York University

Biology.   Health of festuarine organisms in response to environmental stressors, including toxic contaminants, parasites, and invasive species.
jweis@andromeda.rutges.edu
http://newarkbiosci.rutgers.edu/Faculty/weis/weis.htm

Laszlo Zaborszky
M.D., Ph.D., Semmelweis, Hungary

Neuroscience.  Basal forebrain anatomy and electrophysiology.
zaborsky@axon.rutgers.edu
http://www.bns.rutgers.edu/~zaborsky
http://ins.rutgers.edu/